A quiet week in gaming wrapped by a new blog post.

Well a new week has somehow passed by and I’m here to see what has happened this week in video games. This is only the second week I’m doing this new evolution of my blog, so things are still a bit all over the place and subject to change.

Here’s a breakdown of what I’ll be covering. First up is the noteworthy games that have come out, usually the big-name games. Then I get to smaller games that are in development, or are crowd funding their way.  I’ll then get to some gaming news and my opinion on what’s happened. To finish it off I may throw in some non-gaming thoughts at the end related to television, movies, whatever.

 

The big game this week is: Halo Wars 2

Halo Wars 2 – Is a real-time strategy game for Xbox One and PC set in the Halo universe. You take control of USNC ship Spirit of Fire as you fight against old enemies and a new alien race the Banished.

 

The smaller game this week are: Crescent Loom, Northgard

Crescent Loom – Is a puzzle simulation game where you’re building creatures and figuring out how they work. Think of a game QWOP and how you have to move, Crescent Loom teaches you all about how floppy creatures get signals sent through their bodies and how muscles respond. The game is currently wandering Steam Greenlight and is also crowd funding on the website Kickstarter.

Northgard – A strategy city builder where you play as a group of Vikings who have discovered a new land called Northgard filled with plenty of danger and treasure to take. This game was released on Steam Early Access.

 

The News:

This week in gaming has been very quiet, and thus there hasn’t been much in the way of announcements. We do however have lots of chatter about Advanced Micro Devices (AMD) new CPU the Ryzen 7. Most of the talk centering around whether will manage to compete with Intel’s CPU’s and at a lower price point. There are a lot of people eager to see if AMD can compete once again and help bring Intel’s prices down or if it is all just more hype. Early benchmarks, though chosen by AMD, show a competitive multi-thread CPU for cheaper than an Intel i7.  The Ryzen 7 will be released on March 2, 2017 with the Ryzen 5 following sometime in the second quarter of 2017, followed slowly by the Ryzen 3 in the second half of 2017.

 

My take on the matter is that I hope that the new CPU is competitive and gives Intel a kick in the pants to lower prices. AMD didn’t have the greatest CPU last generation and they lost much of their market because of that. I fear that if AMD’s latest CPU doesn’t really stand up to Intel which will lead to less competition and innovation.

 

My none video game thoughts for the week:

I started watching Amazon’s new television show Patriot which is an odd show. It’s a spy thriller of sorts with farce thrown in throughout each episode. The more I watch it, the more it reminds me of the film In Bruges with its dark comedy and absolute ridiculousness at some points. What I’m not sure of is whether I like the series. It’s fun but confusing with its ability to be all over the place has me curious enough to see where it goes. My terrible awful analogy is that the show is a bit like watching a train wreck or car crash in slow motion. Adding to it is the fact that I find myself rooting for bad things to be added on just to see what mayhem will occur, and so I can be happy when something finally comes together.

 

That’s it for those wandering meandering thoughtless opinionated blog post. Please note that the previous sentence is not entirely true, I just wanted to write a bunch of sill similar words and smush them into a sentence. Anyway thank you for coming by. Comments, likes, and follows are greatly appreciated and let me know how I’m doing. If you’re looking to get in touch with me there are three ways to do so: the comment section below, emailing me at Lostvideogamesblog@gmail.com, or contacting me on Twitter @Snipehockey.

Thank you once again and goodnight.

Leave a Reply

